Our Curriculum


In the Early Years Foundation Stage children learn best when they experience learning first hand, through meaningful interactions with others, through physical activity and through play. Our Early Years practice is based on on-going observation and assessment of the children within the curriculum.

The Early Years curriculum emphasises:

Prime areas of learning:

  • Personal, social and emotional Development
  • Communication and Language Development
  • Physical Development

Specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically


Our Early Years principles are based on the EYFS statutory guidance: four overarching principles of good practice:


  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.